Upper Palatinate Forest Nature Park

Upper Palatinate Forest Nature Park

The Upper Palatinate Forest is shaped by prehistoric rocks – by granites and gneiss deposits. These rocks are some of the oldest rocks that shape the landscape anywhere. The Upper Palatinate Forest forms part of the Hercynian mountain range in the middle of Central Europe. It covers the area from the Fichtelgebirge via the Bohemian Forest down to Passau as far as the "Lower Bavarian Forest". Within this large complex, the Upper Palatinate Forest has its own specific and characteristic peculiarities in its natural environment which make it distinct from the other parts.

Particularly rare plant communities such as "orchid or gentian meadows" can also still be found in the nature park. Due to the numerous marginal earning sites for agriculture, extensively used wet meadows, which are particularly important both for the appearance of the landscape and for natural conservation, are taking up an increasingly large amount of space.
 

Charlottenhof pond district

The Charlottenhof pond district is the second-largest natural conservation area in the Upper Palatinate region and it is noted for its beautiful countryside, its very precious plant populations, but above all for its outstanding importance as a breeding ground, transit site and rest area for over 100 bird species (e.g. ospreys, white-tailed sea eagles, black storks, cormorants, sandpipers, little ringed plovers).

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

Kulzer Moos

On a tour of the Prackendorfer and Kulzer Moos you can wind your way through thick moorland forest and discover mysterious moorland bodies of water. Here you will find lots of rare animals and plants and learn useful facts about what this natural conservation area was previously used for.

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

The Taubenwiesbach Valley

The Taubenwiesbach stream flows into the Schwarzach river below the Eixendorf reservoir. This heralds the start of a nature trail which provides you with information about the tree species that occur here and about other topics relating to the forest. On the guided tour, the special features of this habitat and the exceptional collaboration between a range of different parties involved in implementing a natural conservation project are explained in detail.

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

The Jugenberg

In the nature park of the foothills of the Bavarian Forest, the Jugenberg is at 610 metres high a striking landmark near Nittenau. From the meeting point at Hof am Regen the walk initially takes you via Gunt to Eckartsreuth. Stone sculptures then line the route to the summit. Clearings repeatedly offer you a splendid view out over the valley of the River Regen and towards the town of Nittenau. After a walk of around two hours, you can if you wish stop for a snack or visit the distillery of the Jugenberg farmers.

Naturpark Oberpfälzer Wald

Naturpark Oberpfälzer Wald

Der Oberpfälzer Wald wird geprägt vom Urgestein – also von Graniten und Gneisen. Diese Gesteine gehören zu den ältesten landschaftsbildenden Gesteinen. Der Oberpfälzer Wald ist ein Teil des herzynischen Gebirgsraumes im zentralen Mitteleuropa. Es umfasst das Gebiet vom Fichtelgebirge über den Böhmerwald bis hinunter nach Passau zum „Unteren Bayerischen Wald”. Innerhalb dieses großen Komplexes hat der Oberpfälzer Wald seine spezifischen und charakteristischen, naturräumlichen Besonderheiten, die ihn von den übrigen Teilen unterscheiden.

Auch besonders seltene Pflanzengesellschaften wie „Orchideen- oder Enzianwiesen” haben im Naturpark noch ihre Heimat. Aufgrund der zahlreichen Grenzertragsstandorte für die Landwirtschaft nehmen extensiv genutzte und sowohl für das Landschaftsbild als auch für den Naturschutz besonders bedeutsame Feuchtwiesen einen immer größeren Raum ein.

Charlottenhofer Weihergebiet

Das Charlottenhofer Weihergebiet ist das zweitgrößte Naturschutzgebiet der Oberpfalz und zeichnet sich aus durch seine landschaftliche Schönheit, seine sehr wertvollen Pflanzenbestände, v.a. aber durch seine herausragende Bedeutung als Brut-, Durchzugs- und Raststätte für über 100 Vogelarten (z. B. Fisch-, Seeadler, Schwarzstörche, Kormorane, Flussläufer, Flussregenpfeifer).

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

Kulzer Moos

Auf der Tour durch das Prackendorfer und Kulzer Moos kann man durch unwüchsigen Moorwald streifen und geheimnisvolle Moorgewässer entdecken. Hier findet man viele seltene Tiere und Pflanzen und erfährt wissenswertes über die frühere Nutzung dieses Naturschutzgebietes.

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

Das Taubenwiesbachtal

Der Taubenwiesbach mündet unterhalb des Eixendorfer Stausees in die Schwarzach. Dort beginnt ein Lehrpfad, der über die hier vorkommenden Baumarten und über weitere Themen rund um den Wald informiert. Bei der Führung werden die Besonderheiten dieses Lebensraums und die außergewöhnliche Zusammenarbeit verschiedenster Beteiligter bei der Umsetzung eines Naturschutzprojektes näher erläutert.

www.naturpark-opf-wald.de

Der Jugenberg

Im Naturpark des Vorderen Bayerischen Waldes ist der Jugenberg mit 610 Metern ein markanter Orientierungspunkt bei Nittenau. Vom Treffpunkt Hof am Regen geht die Wanderung zunächst über Gunt nach Eckartsreuth. Steinskulpturen säumen dann den Weg zum Gipfel. Durch Lichtungen bietet sich immer wieder ein herrlicher Ausblick über das Regental und in Richtung der Stadt Nittenau. Nach einer ca. zweistündigen Wanderung kann man auf Wunsch zu einer Brotzeit einkehren oder die Brennerei der Jugenbergbauern besichtigen.