Upper Palatinate Lake District

Upper Palatinate Lake District

The Upper Palatinate Lake District is the perfect holiday region for anybody that likes to get out and about on the water: swimming, boating, waterskiing, sailing, surfing, diving – the largest lakes in East Bavaria, countless ponds and idyllic rivers make all of these things possible.

Then there are also spooky haunted castles, impressive festivals and a range of museums. Our region features the large district town of Schwandorf, the towns of Neunburg vorm Wald and Nittenau, the market towns of Bruck in der Oberpfalz and Schwarzenfeld and the communities of Bodenwöhr, Steinberg am See and Wackersdorf. Together with our partners, the Upper Palatinate district and the borough of Schwandorf, they form the Upper Palatinate Lake District.
 

Pingartener Porphyr

Bavaria's most delightful geotope No. 6. The geotope "Former stone quarry in Pingarten porphyry" reveals "Erzhausen arkose": a flood sediment with a rich content of feldspar which was deposited during the Rotliegend age and in some cases is permeated with small courses of river and heavy spar.

As a result of being mixed up with a volcanic rock of similar appearance, this rock was wrongly given the name Pingarten "porphyry".

www.bodenwoehr.de

Brown coal

Bavaria's most delightful geotope No. 99. In the area around Wackersdorf/Steinberg am See, brown coal was mined in large opencast mines up until the 1980s. One of the last accessible seams of brown coal is located south of Wackersdorf on the edge of the former "west field". Here over a width of around 100 m and a height of 10 m a typical array of the layers containing brown coal is revealed.

Layers containing coal are interspersed between flat inclined layers of sand and clay and they used to be what was mined. Sometimes fairly large pieces of coal with a preserved, original wood structure appear in the vast seams of brown coal, which measure several metres in places.
 

www.vg-wackersdorf.de

Oberpfälzer Seenland

Oberpfälzer Seenland

Das Oberpfälzer Seenland ist die perfekte Urlaubsregion für jeden, der sich gerne ins nasse Vergnügen stürzt: Baden, Bootswandern, Wasserski fahren, Segeln, Surfen, Tauchen – die größten Seen Ostbayerns, unzählige Teiche und idyllische Flüsse machen all dies möglich.

Dazu noch gruselige Geisterburgen, beeindruckende Festspiele und diverse Museen. Auf unserer Visitenkarte stehen die große Kreisstadt Schwandorf, die Städte Neunburg vorm Wald und Nittenau, die Märkte Bruck in der Oberpfalz und Schwarzenfeld sowie die Gemeinden Bodenwöhr, Steinberg am See und Wackersdorf. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern, dem Bezirk Oberpfalz und dem Landkreis Schwandorf bilden sie das Oberpfälzer Seenland.

Pingartener Porphyr

Bayerns schönstes Geotop Nr. 6. Das Geotop „Ehemaliger Steinbruch im Pingartener Porphyr” erschließt „Erzhäuser Arkose”: ein zur Zeit des Rotliegenden abgelagertes feldspatreiches Flutsediment, das teilweise von kleinen Flussspat- und Schwerspat-Gängen durchzogen ist.

Dieses Gestein erhielt durch eine Verwechslung mit einem ähnlich aussehnden vulkanischen Gestein fälschlicherweise den Namen Pingartener „Porphyr”.

www.bodenwoehr.de

Braunkohle

Bayerns schönstes Geotop Nr. 99. Im Bereich Wackersdorf/Steinberg am See wurde bis in die 1980er Jahre in großen Tagebauen Braunkohle gewonnen. Eines der letzten zugänglichen Braunkohle Flöze befindet sich südlich von Wackersdorf am Rand des ehemaligen „Westfeldes”. Hier ist auf etwa 100 m Breite und 10 m Höhe eine typische Abfolge der Braunkohle führenden Schichten aufgeschlossen.

Zwischen flach geneigten Sand- und Tonlagen sind Kohle führende Schichten eingeschaltet, die früher Ziel des Abbaus waren. In den stellenweise mehrere Meter mächtigen Braunkohleflözen treten manchmal größere Kohlestücke mit erhaltener, ursprünglicher Holzstruktur auf.

www.vg-wackersdorf.de