Palaces

Palaces

Palaces in East Bavaria – probably the most famous is the Thurn und Taxis palace complex in Regensburg. It is larger than Buckingham Palace and a social venue for festivals in summer and various exhibitions and fairs such as the romantic Christmas market.

But there are also many palaces beyond the gates of Regensburg, ranging from the palace in Neunburg vorm Wald and the palace in Fronberg through to Pirkensee Palace. In summer numerous festivals and theatrical performances are held in many other historic locations, while in winter the array of many romantic Christmas markets extends right across the entire region.

Thurn und Taxis

The important saints Emmeram and Wolfgang as well as Carolingian emperors, Bavarian dukes and Regensburg bishops have all been buried here.

The Emmeram cloisters were built between the 11th and 14th centuries; the basilica was remodelled in the 18th century in the Baroque style and is one of the most important churches in Europe. Famous artists such as the Asam brothers and renowned architects such as Leo von Klenze have shaped the monastery complex.

Allow yourself to be carried away on a tour through the palace.
Experience a thousand years of monastic tradition and trace this back through the captivating history of monks, emissaries and aristocratic life.

www.thurnundtaxis.de

Schlösser

Schlösser

Schlösser in Ostbayern – das wohl bekannteste ist in Regensburg die Anlage von Thurn und Taxis. Größer als der Buckingham Palace und gesellschaftlicher Treffpunkt zu Festspielen im Sommer und verschiedenen Messen wie auch dem romantischen Weihnachtsmarkt.

Aber auch außerhalb den Toren Regensburgs finden sich zahlreiche Schlösser: Vom Schloss in Neunburg vorm Wald über das Schloss in Fronberg bis hin zum Schloss Pirkensee. In vielen weiteren historischen Orten werden im Sommer zahlreiche Feste und Theateraufführungen geboten, während im Winter der Reigen zahlreicher romantischer Weihnachtsmärkte durch die ganze Region reicht.

Thurn und Taxis

Die bedeutenden Heiligen Emmeram und Wolfgang sowie Karolingerkaiser, bayerische Herzöge und Regensburger Bischöfe haben hier ihre Grablege gefunden.

Der Emmeramer Kreuzgang entstand im 11. bis 14. Jahrhundert, die Basilika wurde im 18. Jahrhundert umfangreich barockisiert und zählt zu den wichtigsten Kirchen Europas. Berühmte Künstler wie die Gebrüder Asam und bedeutende Baumeister wie Leo von Klenze haben die Klosteranlage geprägt.

Lassen Sie sich entführen zu einem Rundgang durch das Schloss.
Erleben Sie tausend Jahre Klostertradition und folgen Sie zurück in die interessante Geschichte der Mönche, Gesandten und des aristokratischen Lebens.

www.thurnundtaxis.de