Schönseer- und Oberviechtacher Land

Schönseer- und Oberviechtacher Land

... here you will find an impressive, gentle low mountain landscape which invites you to go on long hikes in summer and in winter entices all of the Nordic sports enthusiasts to the extensive and prepared cross-country ski runs.

The Oberviechtacher Land is also referred to as "Bavaria's piece of gold" and this is a clear reference to the historically recorded mining of gold in the 14th century. Although "gold mining" no longer plays a "major role" nowadays, Oberviechtach is an established health resort in the Upper Palatinate Forest Nature Park.

You will find another five state-approved health resorts in the Schönseer Land region. The communities of Schönsee, Dietersdorf, Gaisthal, Stadlern and Weiding offer cycling routes and hiking trails and not least also lakes for fishing as well as "heaven on earth, on horseback ...".
 

Hirschberg viewing tower

In the nature park of the foothills of the Bavarian Forest, the Jugenberg is at 610 metres high a striking landmark near Nittenau. From the meeting point at Hof am Regen the walk initially takes you via Gunt to Eckartsreuth. Stone sculptures then line the route to the summit. Clearings repeatedly offer you a splendid view out over the valley of the River Regen and towards the town of Nittenau. After a walk of around two hours, you can if you wish stop for a snack or visit the distillery of the Jugenberg farmers.

Schönseer- und Oberviechtacher Land

Schönseer- und Oberviechtacher Land

... hier finden Sie eine beeindruckende, sanfte Mittelgebirgslandschaft, die im Sommer zu ausgedehnten Wanderungen einlädt und im Winter alle nordischen Sportler auf die ausgedehnten und präparierten Loipen führt.

Das „Goldstück Bayerns” wird auch das Oberviechtacher Land genannt und damit deutlich auf den historisch überlieferten Gold-Abbau im 14. Jahrhundert angespielt. Wenn auch das „Gold gewinnen” heute nicht mehr die „große Rolle” spielt, ist Oberviechtach ein anerkannter Erholungsort im Naturpark Oberpfälzer Wald.

Weitere fünf staatlich anerkannte Erholungsorte finden sie im Schönseer Land. Die Gemeinden Schönsee, Dietersdorf, Gaisthal, Stadlern und Weiding bieten Radrouten wie Wanderwege und nicht zuletzt auch Angelgewässer sowie „das Glück der Erde, auf dem Rücken der Pferde ...”.

Hirschberg-Aussichtsturm

Im Naturpark des Vorderen Bayerischen Waldes ist der Jugenberg mit 610 Metern ein markanter Orientierungspunkt bei Nittenau. Vom Treffpunkt Hof am Regen geht die Wanderung zunächst über Gunt nach Eckhartsreuth. Steinskulpturen säumen dann den Weg zum Gipfel. Durch Lichtungen bietet sich immer wieder ein herrlicher Ausblick über das Regental und in Richtung der Stadt Nittenau. Nach einer ca. zweistündigen Wanderung kann man auf Wunsch zu einer Brotzeit einkehren oder die Brennerei der Jugenbergbauern besichtigen.